Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• MCSE - worth it?

Are the MCSE exams worth it anymore?

I'm really thinking about doing mine but everyone I speak to says that they're pretty much worthless now and my money would be better spent elewhere. I'm not completely convinced and would still really like to do them but though I would seek opinions from people who really know their stuff

I have about 5 years experience in IT, first 2 were very low down in the chain and just basic maintenance and the last 3 have been dealing with all manner of systems including 2000, XP, Vista, server 2k3 etc. Would it be worth me putting in the time and money to do it?

Thanks

Re: MCSE - worth it?

IMHO, yes
    Server 2003 will be around for a few years yet, so there is still a requirement for support staff for it. Also, "MCSE" is a known quantity whereas "MCITP in ......" needs explaining to management, recruiters etc.
    Tom Jones
    MCT, MCSE (2000:Security & 2003), MCSA:Security & Messaging, MCDBA, MCDST, MCITP(EA, EMA, SA, EDA, ES, CS), MCTS, MCP, Sec+
    PhD, MSc, FIAP, MIITT
    IT Trainer / Consultant
    Ossian Ltd
    Scotland

** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points where appropriate **

Comment

IMHO: MCSE + Experience = $$

Comment

Well.. Today I finished my mcse + security and yes it was worth it, at least for me.
        Right now I'm going to upgrade my mcse to MCITP
        Marcel
        Technical Consultant
        Netherlands
        http://www.phetios.com
        http://blog.nessus.nl

MCITP(EA, SA), MCSA/E 2003:Security, CCNA, SNAF, DCUCI, CCSA/E/E+ (R60), VCP4/5, NCDA, NCIE - SAN, NCIE - BR, EMCPE
        "No matter how secure, there is always the human factor."

"Enjoy life today, tomorrow may never come."
        "If you're going through hell, keep going. ~Winston Churchill"

Comment

That's enough persuasion for me