mcse path

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• mcse path

I'm currently studying for my MCSE and have started studying for the 70-290 exam already. I have been working with Windows for 4 years now as desktop support and systems admin.I have the MS press books or the core exams so far and testout software for all the exams except the xp or vista exam ,I'm still not sure which exam I want to take from those two.How difficult are the exams to pass? I've heard that some of the material tested is useless as I would never use it.Do you have any tips on passing the exams the first time?
    MCITP: EA

MCITP: SA

Re: mcse path

The only tip you will need if you have proper experience:

Do NOT overthink your answer

Answer exactly what the question wants you to.

I have a hard time thinking of an example..

Let's say you were doing an SQL exam and there was a question saying "Bob's donut shop wants to take a full backup on sunday and minimize backup time on every other day of the week. Bob doesnt want to lose more than 1 day of data"

You could think the good answer would be to do Differentials, as it's faster to restore, but you would probably be wrong, as that doesn't exactly answer ONLY what the question is looking for: How do you MINIMIZE the backup time

Oh and to answer your question: Take the Vista one, at least you might learn something new about Bitlocker, UAC etc!
    Last edited by gepeto; 11th July 2008, 18:14. Reason: XP or Vista
    VCP on vSphere (4), MCITP:EA/DBA, MCTS:Blahblah

Comment

Well most of my real world experience is on the desktop side but I have server experience just no where near as much.I have a small network built at home for study purposes.Some of the stuff in the 290 book I already knew,picked up a few tricks to what I already knew,and some stuff just plan knew to me like AD administration from the command line.I will consider the vista exam too being as I will probably upgrade to server 2008 eventually.

Comment