Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Study Habbits

Hello,

What are the study habbits of everyone else out there going for their MCSE? This has been something I have been pursuing this dreaded Cert for many years now, and I am only 2 exams in. I have passed my client and server exam (took the server exam a couple years ago) but I have the dreaded 70-291 staring me in the face. I have read books, then gone on to something else never really finishing. Subnetting is definitly my weakpoint, esp since I don't use it AT ALL. I also have some wierd fear of failing because I havent failed an exam yet, and alot of people have failed 70-291. Also it's not like I am not in the field, I've been in IT for 8 years now with a lot of AD experience, exchange, Isa, etc.

Anyone else's study habbits would be appreciated so I can see if any would work to get me to stay focused and actually write the rest of my mcse tests.

Thanks for listening!

Re: Study Habbits

The same here with 70-291, this is my last one for MCSA. I really miss hands on expierence on this one. Subnetting & changing DNS settings etc. are not part of my daily job.

I failed MS Exchange 2007 2 times but made it the 3rd time. It is no shame to not pass once in a while.

I followed an evening course 2 times a week for 3 weeks based on the blue books lead by a MCT.
    We got a Transcender login for online training...

I just finished MS Exchange (70-236) & MS Vista (70-620) 2 weeks ago, next week I'll start preparing for the 70-291 exam...

Anyway, good luck with your certification!!!
    MCITP:EST | MCTS | MCSE 2k3 | MCSA 2k3 | MCP
    A+ Core | ITIL-F

Comment

I usually read a book pretty fast if I already have some experience ( I review chapter reviews etc) or not as fast if I have no experience (and I do the practice stuff then).

After that I do some practice tests.

With second shot, as soon as I feel REMOTELY confident, I just take the test.

I mean what's the worse that can happen?