Get MCSA/MCSE 2003...or wait til' 08?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Get MCSA/MCSE 2003...or wait til' 08?

Currently, I only have A+ certification. However, I've been a Microsoft admin for around 4 years now and am wanting to get more certifications(after getting my A+, I sort of "forgot" about certifications and they were never a priority for me).

So, should I go ahead and try and get my MSCA/MSCE for 2003 server, or wait until 08 server? Right now, I'm leaning strongly towards just getting the 03 server for now since many companies will still be using it years from now, but I wanted to get your input.

Also, I was wondering what resources any of you found useful in studying for your MSCA/MSCE? I can easily do a google search and find 100's of resources that are out there, but I was wondering what was useful for those that have already passed the test. I'd be interested to know anything that worked for you, whether it's free or costs money. Thanks!

Re: Get MCSA/MCSE 2003...or wait til' 08?

I can't tell you whether to wait or not but I have a couple thoughts:
    - would it boost your pay in your current job?
    - are you going to be looking for a job as a Windows admin?
    - would it help in getting a promotion?
    - do you feel you need a deeper knowledge of Windows 2003?
    - do you want to prove to yourself that you have the knowledge
    - etc.

Those are some of the questions I would ask myself to make the decision on whether or not to take the tests.

As for what to use if you are going to take the test, I have used MS Press (except the 70-279 book) and Exam Cram books, TechNet website, and labs/on the job experience.

MS Press was very good, I thought, and the Exam Crams were adequate. My one pet peeve about both is that the practice exams on the CDs were filled with erroneous information. This was also the case with the Exam Cram chapter tests.
    Regards,
    Jeremy

Network Consultant/Engineer