Thinking about going for CCNA, some advice needed

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Thinking about going for CCNA, some advice needed

Having decided to leave my current job, and thinking I'd probably prefer contract work at least for a while, it seems that in Scotland there are far more jobs n networking than infrastructure so I've been thinking about getting a CCNA to add to my MCSA.

My preference is get a good book and some equipment so I can learn at my own pace. I have plenty of experience with some parts and actually did the old ICND course back in 2005 so know some of what to expect. I'm not a fan of video training TBH, particularly for networking as the American pronunciation of router really grates on me.

Anyway, after my long-winded intro, I'm looking at getting Wendell Odom's book the official 200-120 prep guide and building a home lab consisting of 2 x 2621xm routers with WIC interfaces and a serial cable, plus a couple of 2950 switches.

Any thoughts, recommendations etc are appreciated. The only other option I can see is Cisco's Packet Tracer software but I don't see any way to get it if you aren't registered with a training provider.
    BSc, MCSA: Server 2008, MCSE, MCSA: Messaging, MCTS
    sigpic
    Cruachan's Blog

Re: Thinking about going for CCNA, some advice needed

I've read several books by the author you mentioned and found them to be very good.

I've previously purchased Cisco "training" kits that consisted of one or more routers and one or more switches. I find working on real equipment to be a great benefit to understanding and retaining the information you get from the books.

I have Cisco Packet Tracer but don't know if it's appropriate to offer you a copy of it. If no members object I'd be more than happy to post a Dropbox link for you to download it from.

GNS3 is a popular alternative to Cisco Packet Tracer, but you have to provide your own IOS images.

http://www.gns3.net/

Comment